Jump to the main content block



The Institute of History started in 1985. Its master’s program was the first graduate program in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences. Its initial two divisions focused on Chinese intellectual and cultural history and on history of science. In 2001, new division – Science, Technology, and Society – was established in response to the new development in science studies. Another division – Early Modern China and Multi-cultural Studies – was founded in collaboration with the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica. The PhD program began in 1996.


Division A: Traditional Chinese History.

Division B: History of Science and Technology.

Division C: Science, Technology, and Society (no more intake of students since 2009).

Division D: Early Modern China and Multi-cultural Studies.


As of June 2013, the Institute has eleven full-time professors, and several professors holding joint appointments with other institutions, including Department of Chinese Literature and Center for General Education of National Tsing Hua University and the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, as well as a number of part-time professors.


Intellectual and cultural history and history of science and technology continue to be two of the main areas on which this institute focuses. The Early Modern China and Multi-cultural Studies division provides trainings that enable students to study Chinese history within a broader context of Asian and world history. Social historians and art historians recently joined the faculty and add more aspects into curriculum.

Contact Information

Website: /index.php

E-mail: his@my.nthu.edu.tw

TEL: 03-5727128                 FAX: 03-5176780

Click Num: